Boruto Naruto Next Generations Episode 9 Review

Episode 9 – Proof of Oneself

Well that was disappointing. I was too hopeful about this series having two great episodes in a row. Sadly, the fight between Boruto and Grandpa never happens… but he gets to fight Hanabi instead! …. But that is pretty anti climatic as well. That made me sad since I wanted to see Hanabi fight more but the episode made up for it when Hanabi was being the great older sister she is to Boruto later on.

I liked the emphasis on Boruto’s obsession with staying clean and how sad he looks when he gets a hole in his jacket calls back to one of his character flaws originally shown in the Boruto movie. I like getting some further background on how Boruto used to be like before the movie. I also liked seeing Naruto acting like a dad and being more mature than we are used to. It was a nice change of pace for his character plus Naruto always makes the scenes he is in better (but I guess that is my fanboyness talking).

I just noticed that I didn’t talk about the other half of the episode. That’s probably because it was pretty forgettable apart from Sarada coming in to help out dumb Boruto.

For now, I am going to stop trying to predict if the series will finally get into a groove and continually release good episodes. Next week is the last episode I told myself I would watch if the series didn’t start getting really good. Let’s see if I keep watching this series or not!

またね!(See ya!)

Leave a Reply

